Healthy Living and Yoga Practice

Toward the end of last year, I read In Defense of Food and The Omnivore’s Dilemma by Michael Pollan and these two books instantly changed my perspective on food.  I haven’t turned back.  My diet staples now consist of:

  • plain nonfat greek yogurt (I’m so obsessed)
  • berries (strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, etc.)
  • whatever fruits/veggies are in season ( @ the farmer’s market)
  • plain almond milk
  • whey protein
  • chicken or turkey
  • egg whites (sometimes up to 8 a day!)
  • whole wheat  or whole grain tortillas
  • trader joe’s vanilla almond granola
  • brown rice
  • rice cakes & all natural unsalted peanut butter
  • and lots of green tea!

Sometimes I’ll mix it up & get other forms of protein like salmon or tuna, but for the most part this is it. Very simple.  I do indulge occasionally, like I did over the weekend in Monterey Bay, but then my body punishes me for it with heart burn and stomach aches.  I have found that I cannot digest greasy food anymore =/ I suppose this is a good thing.

Eating clean & healthy has helped me a lot with my training.  For example, you’re supposed to eat carbs right before you work out, for energy. After you work out, if you completed a strength training session, you need to eat a meal with a 1:1 protein/carb ratio.  If you completed a cardio session, you need to eat a meal with a 1:3 protein/carb ratio.  I had no idea!

A few months ago I resurrected my yoga practice and I finally joined a studio (Core Power Yoga in Sherman Oaks).  Last week, I successfully completed the crow pose (aka crane pose) for 10 seconds.  I felt so proud of myself in a way that I haven’t felt in years.  The last time I felt this proud was probably when I performed my first flute concerto back in high school…maybe. I couldn’t do this pose for the life of me back in college, but my core strength has vastly improved over the past year thanks to bar method & pilates.  Especially pilates.

Anyway, I’m excited to master a few more poses, including:

One day, I would like to be able to do all the arm balancing poses.  I’m not quite there yet!

Last thing – a few photos from my weekend trip to Monterey Bay. It was absolutely beautiful, mostly overcast and the ocean was calm. Now I really want to discover the rest of the California coast. (It’s on my 30 under 30 list!)

Kevin took these:

A school of fish at the Monterey Bay Aquarium. It was magical!

Monterey Bay.  This is my favorite!

Me, near Sea Lion Cove.

A couple of my pics (taken on my iPhone, so obviously not as great as Kevin’s):

Moon Jellies!

Kevin snapping away

Leave a Reply

