Lazy Girl Snacks: 12 Quick & Easy Snacks Guaranteed to NOT Turn You Into a Whale

Photo from Stiletto Chef

I stopped making New Year’s resolutions, because I figured if I wanted to do something, I’ll just go do it and not wait until a new year to “resolve” to do it.  However, if you’re like most people, you probably resolved to eat healthier & exercise more this year.  That’s awesome! I like people that are proactive in managing their health.  If you’re like me, however, you probably don’t want to spend too much time in the kitchen. I’m kind of lazy when it comes to cooking, so I try to limit those domestic duties to two nights a week. That leaves more time for other things, like yoga or pilates.

Eating is essential to, well, life. Thus I present to you, 12 quick & easy snacks for lazy asses that still want to eat healthy:

  1. Greek Yogurt – Nonfat Greek yogurt with just about everything. Take 1/2 a cup or one cup of Greek yogurt & top it off with strawberries & almonds, blueberries & almonds, granola, mangoes, and honey (don’t get too crazy there). I typically buy the Trader Joe’s brand or FAGE. Want more? Here are 10 Ways to Get Totally Obsessed with Greek Yogurt (Stiletto Chef).
  2. Persian Cucumbers & Hummus – Get a bunch of Persian cucumbers, slice them up & pack them into little containers.  Add a bit of hummus on the side. My personal favorite is tomato basil hummus. Fresh, crunchy, and delicious.
  3. Kale Chips – I’ve recently become addicted to kale. So much that I get it every week & was completely depressed one week when they ran out of it at the store–the same week they ran out of Persian cucumbers…that was a bad week.  Here’s a great recipe for cracked pepper, sour cream & onion kale chips from Noveau Raw.
  4. Whole Wheat Tortilla Chips & Guacamole –  Any brand of tortilla is fine. I like to find the one with at least 5 grams of fiber per serving. Cut up eat tortilla into eight pieces (or however many pieces you want) & bake them in your oven for maybe 10 minutes at 400 degrees (this might vary depending on your oven). Guacamole is super easy to make too: just combine a tiny bit of chopped onion, chopped garlic, salt, lime juice & avocado.  And voila! You’ve got guacamole. How much of each thing to use is up to you. You can also add other things like cayenne pepper, if you want a bit of spice, or cilantro, if you like cilantro (I don’t).
  5. Rice Cakes & Guacamole – It sounds gross, but it’s super delicious.  See my recipe for 2-minute guacamole above & spread some over unsalted rice cakes.
  6. Rice Cakes & Peanut Butter – Unsalted rice cakes + unsalted creamy (or chunky) peanut butter.  Sometimes, I like to add a few slices of banana on top.
  7. Celery & Peanut Butter – Exactly what it sounds like. You can add a few raisins for “ants on a log.”
  8. Sliced Apples & Peanut Butter – Yep, that’s it.
  9. Hard Boiled Eggs – Great before/after a workout, but also a great anytime snack. Just toss out the egg yolk. If you need the iron, take an iron supplement.
  10. Edamame – You can get the shelled or un-shelled kind at Trader Joe’s. I believe they are the same price, so go with the un-shelled kind (for more edamame & less peeling).
  11. Cut Fruit & Almonds – I always like to combine my carbs with some sort of protein and/or fat. Cut veggies make for great snacks too, but you guys knew that already!
  12. KIND Bars – one of my new obsessions.  I always grab a few at the grocery store near my office. My favorites are the almond & apricots in yogurt, macadamia & apricot, apple cinnamon & pecan. Great snack before a cardio workout.

There are plenty more quick, easy & health snacks out there in this world, but I typically stick to a few guidelines when it comes to food:

  • Eat food close to its original form, or as close as possible (e.g. lots of raw stuff, great for the lazies like me)
  • Avoid most processed foods.  If the food you’re eating is not in its original form, then it’s probably gone through some sort of processing, despite how “healthy” you may think it is.
  • Avoid most dairy like milk & cheese. Despite what the USDA or FDA or whoever wants us to believe, dairy IS NOT an essential food group. I’m lactose intolerant so I don’t eat stuff like cheese (it’s all saturated fat anyway) or drink regular milk (130 calories & 12 grams of sugar in one cup of 2% fat milk? + upset stomach? Uh, no thanks). Unsweetened almond milk, one of my other food obsessions, has 40 calories & 0 grams of sugar per cup. See? So much better. You can even make your own (Hello Brit).
  • Eat mostly gluten free – click here for more info (Mayo Clinic). Because I just feel better when I do.

Interested in learning more about food?  Here are a few books to add to your reading list:

  • Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food
  • Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma
  • Gary Taube’s Good Calories, Bad Calories – I haven’t had the chance to read this one yet, but it has been recommended by many people. It’s also a whopping 600+ pages, so if you’re a little strapped on time, read the next book on the list by the same author.
  • Gary Taube’s Why We Get Fat & What to Do About It
  • And finally, something less scientific & intellectual, but fun to read: Skinny Bitch by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin. Because, let’s face it, what girl doesn’t want to be a skinny bitch?

What are your favorite healthy snacks? Please add your favs in the comments. Thanks :)

2 thoughts on “Lazy Girl Snacks: 12 Quick & Easy Snacks Guaranteed to NOT Turn You Into a Whale

  1. Pingback: Healthy Versions of Your Favorite Carbs « Gracie's Empty World | You Know, Stuff

  2. Pingback: Delicious Low-Carb Breakfasts | Gracie's Empty World

Leave a Reply

