3 Ways to Add Flavor to Your Water

Apparently sugar is so toxic that some researchers recommend regulating it. I don’t support this idea, because I believe people should be free to consume whatever they want.  However, if you’re looking to reduce your sugar intake, cutting back on sugary drinks is probably the easiest way to do it. There are 39 grams of sugar in one can of Coke, 30 grams of sugar in one 8 oz. glass of orange juice, and 27 grams of sugar in a one 8 oz. cup of apple juice. That’s a crap ton of sugar, people.

Healthy alternatives to sugary drinks include water & tea. Of course you knew that.  However, if you think water is boring, here are three ways to jazz up your water:

1. Fruit Infused Ice Cubes – When I get bored with regular water, I like to add lemon slices or cucumber slices to my water. If you want to get really crafty, you can squeeze some fresh juice (e.g. orange, lemon, cranberry, etc.) into an ice tray and freeze.  Or try what I did today. I had a surplus of Japanese cucumbers from my weekly trip to the farmer’s market, so I cut out a few cucumber slices, placed one slice in each slot of the tray, added water & stuck the tray in my freezer for a few hours.  Stick a few in your water bottle for refreshing cucumber water on-the-go.

(Note: You can do this with virtually ANY fruit. Citrus fruits are my favorite to add to water, besides cucumbers.)

2. Fresh Coconut – My latest food obsession is coconut water. Real Coconut Water with Pulp by Taste Nirvana is my personal favorite. However, if you’re like most people on a budget, a $2 bottle of coconut water is quite a splurge.  So, you can be cheap like me and try to make your own. Just buy a whole coconut from the store, pour the water inside into a bottle, chop up the coconut, & stick some in your water. Voila! Coconut water. Refrigerate or freeze whatever you don’t use for later consumption.

Taste Nirvana's Real Coconut Water w/Pulp. Photo taken with my iPhone at Ocean Beach, San Francisco.

3. Mint – Mint is another great way to add some flavor to your water. Mint & raspberry, mint & lemon, mint & strawberry…the list goes on. Try it!

Any other ideas to make water less boring? Add them in the comments!

One thought on “3 Ways to Add Flavor to Your Water

  1. These are all the things that my pediatrician told me when I was switching Alex from formula to water. Alex loves strawberry flavored water. It’s also a great way to make use of extra fruit. We’ve used blueberries, mint, cucumber, apple, lemon, orange. Delish!

Leave a Reply

